My New Gig

Hey everyone, remember me? After the end of the semester stress followed by a lovely vacation to the States I’m back in the land of fire and ice.

Starting in less than a week I will officially begin my summer position as program assistant for SIT Abroad Iceland! SIT is an American-based institute which provides the opportunity for students to integrate themselves in a different culture while studying and earning credits in one particular field. In the case of the Icelandic program, the students will be learning about renewable energy systems and technologies, as well as being introduced to Icelandic language. They travel from Ísafjörður in the West Fjords to Reykjavík, here in the South, all the while staying in hostels or with host families, and hopefully experiencing a diverse range of cultural, educational, and personal adventures.

This is an adventure for me, too. I am afforded the opportunity to see places I’ve never seen before, work in my field, and meet myriad new people from all backgrounds and walks of life. I look forward to writing about and sharing over the next several weeks, and I hope you look forward to reading.

Below, check out the sign made to welcome the students when they arrive at Keflavik Airport. Hopefully this will temporarily relieve their jet lag, or at least hold them over until we make it to the Blue Lagoon – not a bad way to start your trip to Iceland!IMG_5957

Leave a Reply

